Lies

As my pen idly scratches into this haunting white paper, I hear you memory whispering urgently, telling me to let you take over.

I hear the same words that you had spoken to me all those years ago.

I promise.

That was all a lie. You promised you would protect me from the monsters crawling inside of me to which I answered, ‘You can’t.’

Yet you dared counter me again, promising once more you could do it because you loved me.

That was all a lie, and that’s all your malevolent memory will ever be. A lie which I was readily charmed to believe.

-Giorgia Piantanida (trendsandrelations.wordpress.com)

For more, check out “The Uselessness Of A Broken Heart” and “You’re Gone”

Leave a Reply

