Athletic Shoes?

Lately, there’s been a strange surge in athletic or sporty clothes, and as a swimmer, I’ve bought into it wholeheartedly. There’s nothing quite like throwing on a pair of jeans, a comfy sweatshirt and a pair of ‘trendy’ sneakers and feeling like you’re actually really put together.

img_4313

My Superstars helping me out on move in day this past August!

Sneakers, in my personal opinion, are one of the most comfortable yet least fashionable shoes out there. I mean, sure, there are people who can wear normal Nike sneakers that are meant for lifting with some jeans and pull it off, but unfortunately, that is a very small subsection of our population today. So that leaves the majority of us scrounging for a nice pair of comfortable shoes to complement our outfits to avoid looking like we gave up halfway through.

And that is where Adidas and Puma sneakers come into play. Both are very well known brands for sneakers, but their trendier sneakers are also very good investments, and I’m here to tell you why. Now I have the Adidas Superstars in black and white as well as the Puma Basket Classic sneakers in black, and they are always my go to shoes, without a doubt. Besides being basic colors that go with almost everything, they are so comfortable, and the more I wear them, the more comfortable they get.

And the greatest thing about these shoes is you can wear them with almost anything and still look put together while still feeling great, because let’s get real, beauty doesn’t always have to hurt. They’re good in all 4 seasons, which is another big plus, and another thing I love about them is the more you wear them out, the cooler they look (according to everyone but parents who throw them in the wash). 

Also, another note on the Adidas, which I’ve had for longer than the Pumas. I have a

img_1767

Making another appearance for a shopping day in SoHo

women’s size 8/9, and I was able to fit in the kids sizes, which is great because the price different is pretty substantial. Also, the sole thing is super soft and wonderful to walk on- it feels like a tempur-pedic mattress honestly, and I reach for them mostly because of that at times.

So if it’s for a day out on the town or just a late night frat party, these sneakers should be your go to- what’s better than style and comfort, all in one?

P.S. After the major success I found with the Superstars, I decided to invest in a pair of NEO Courtsets in blue, which seem to me like more feminine sneakers- they’re thinner and much less comfortable, but as I’m breaking them in, they’re quickly growing on me.

P.P.S. In the header picture, I was actually wearing my Superstars due to having had planned a trip through the island of Phuket in Thailand, and those shoes got me through elephant rides, temple visits, and very (very) long walks, so 10/10.

 

Leave a Reply

