Applying

Wow, now you’ve gotten pretty far into the process. You know where your applications are being sent to, when they’re due, and which reply you most look forward to. I know this time is stressful and scary, and it’s hard to juggle everything you’ve got going on, what with senior year and knowing you have to maintain some kind of social life. I”m not going to tell you it’s smooth sailing and yeah, your family might have a hard time understanding what’s going on and it might be tough talking about it with your friends because that may amplify the stress, but I promise it’ll be over before you know it.

If there is one piece of advice I can give you when applying, it’s that you should try to start the process as early as possible. I know that you’ve probably heard this time and time again, but it’s the most valuable advice I followed during the process. I wrote my general essay in the summer (actually, I wrote two), and came into senior year ready to have it revised and edited by a couple people. That immediately put me ahead of the rush, and I was able to get on my application in mid-September, significantly earlier than many of my friends who found themselves rushing at the end. It’s important to give yourself time to fill out this application because it’s so important to your future, as well as the fact that the more time you have, the more you can perfect it. Just try to give yourself the best advantage possible.

You’re almost there- I promise, this is actually the home stretch. Just put your head down and work hard for a couple more months, and then you’ll be on the other side and breathing easier. So take a deep breath, and believe in yourself- you can do this!

Leave a Reply

